Training Week in DC


CULTURE & PEOPLE. When I first arrived in Arlington, I decided to go exploring to replenish my energy. What I thought would be a three-mile walk/run turned into an all-day adventure. I walked in the residential area and the W & OD trail for 3-4 hours–countless people were using the trail to ride bikes, have picnics, walk, run, and play sports. This city cares far more about health and intelligence than image; image is not a god in that city. What?! This exists?! Apparently, so!

Now on to the even greater joys not anticipated! When one peruses the IJM website it doesn’t take long to recognize the excellence and integrity of the organization, but it hardly taps into how incredible these people are in word and deed. Every presentation was filled with insight as to why they do what they do and how it fits into the mission and values of IJM; this is truly a value-informed and mission-bound organization. You’ll learn more about this shortly. On day one, I road the elevator with the infamous Gary Haugen (CEO/Founder of IJM)!  His hair looks even crazier in person! Haha! Their main values from which ALL objectives and standards stem from are: to be Christian, professional, and a bridge-builder. For example, in being a bridge-builder, instead of having an adversarial relationship with the government, IJM builds relationships with government officials to influence the structure and execution as it relates to the rule of law and thereby championing the government, and not the NGO. Come to find out, the city of my deployment is one of the offices in the field where IJM has a structural transformation project up and running, meaning IJM has assessed their relationship with the government and either by invitation or evaluation, they have the government as a captive audience because of their repetitious credibility. Brilliant, right? This is only the beginning.

TAKEAWAY. I could go on and on about how much I respect the operation and effectiveness of IJM, but I wanted to share one point I took away from this week on a personal level. My working framework of what it means to be ‘on mission’ with God primarily came from a private Christian college where I studied Theology with all the guys who were going into vocational ministry, so when the Lord began to whisper something different from this I was caught off-guard. I never assumed I would be in vocational ministry but still, it’s almost as if I didn’t know what else to do. A cultural observation I’ve made of the deep south is if you’re madly in love with the Father you go into vocational ministry, period, but now I know it’s a narrow, unexamined assumption.

This assumption was so real to me, that for me not to pursue vocational ministry was to be a person who automatically was pursuing the American dream. Eventually, I came to understand that it wasn’t about my role/occupation per se–since all roles are a means to the same end–but about how God was directing me to express dependence upon him. I had only seen people express their passion and dependence upon God through ministry roles- what a limited scope of what it means to spend yourself on people! And so . . . I understood. From there, I conceived a desire to work with the marginalized in a professional role through Proverbs 31:

“Open your mouth for the mute, for the rights of all who are destitute. Open your mouth, judge righteously, defend the rights of the poor and needy.” (vv. 8,9)

I began grad school and thrived in the professional environment with absolute confidence I was heading in the right direction. And, after this week with IJM staff I have even more assurance that, for this season (and maybe for my entire life), I’m to be a professional and not employed by the church. Here’s why I say that: billions and billions of dollars is spent on proselytizing each year along with relief and development, but a fraction is spent on oppression- doing something about the hand of the oppressor. So, let’s say an African widow’s land and all her possessions are stolen from her after her husband passes away and your organization goes in and feeds her for two months, gives her a stipend to live off of, shares the gospel with her, and even builds her a new house. What’s going to happen to her? Well, the bullies are just going to come again and steal everything you just gave her. Since the perpetrator was not held accountable all those efforts are nearly wasted simply because the law does not work to protect the poor. Hence the reason why IJM’s mission entails working with the local governments so that the law will secure long-term freedom for the poor so that the poor can enjoy the gifts God has given them namely (IJM), “life, liberty, dignity and the fruits of their love and labor.”

Now that these connections have been made with headquarters staff in DC and I have been taught further about the malicious and intentionally-violent nature of injustice, the sense of urgency and purpose in going to South Asia is undeniably staring me down and as I reflect on these, I have taken away greater wisdom, greater responsibility, and empowerment to stare back with confidence: I’m going to show up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“Give justice to the poor and orphan; uphold the rights of the oppressed and the destitute. Rescue the poor and the helpless; deliver them from the grasp of evil people.” (Psa. 82:3,4)

5 thoughts on “Training Week in DC

  1. Psalm 32:8
    I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.

  2. really loved reading this. your statements are so powerful and thought provoking.
    sheree

  3. I loved reading this and can’t wait to hear more!
    P.S. I like your professional, career woman look 🙂

Leave a Reply

